Being an Indian girl is tough bro.

Oh it’s not tough. No way. It’s hell. I am an Indian. I am a girl. There that’s it..end of life. It’s just that there a lot of restrictions when it comes to being an Indian. Well for starters.. I am tall, have brown coloured skin, not into computers and engineering and not the fittest one around. So where do I begin? Being tall is..amazing shit. Amazing but shit. I love being tall and making jokes about my height but when it comes to the entire world making jokes about me..I admit it is hard to keep myself from dying. I’m the kind of person who has learnt to take criticism but..it is a lot. When someone can’t reach something, they call me to get it. I have lots of.. unique.. nick names (Eiffel tower, Burj Khalifa, giraffe, and others). They aren’t bad..just..not that nice either. I am truly grateful for who I am though..at least that counts 😉

But being tall comes with other things like..not wearing shorts or skirts or dresses and being Indian comes with all this and not being able to wear crop tops or sleeveless shirts, talking to boys, going to parties, sleepovers, not being outside alone, don’t drink, don’t draw attention an many more.. The worst is probably me not being able to wear heels..and I am the ultimate shoe fanatic..well fashion to be more elaborate. Fashion is my life but I’m restricted to half the shit available..what am I supposed to? Wear my brother’s shirts and shorts for the rest of my life? I will never have an identity of my own..do you know how awkward it feels to wear anything without leggings? But that’s how I’ve been brought up so I don’t know how else I have to be..

Don’t even get me started with my “future.” How come you (as in my family) get to decide what I’m going to become or what I need to choose later in life..on one hand they tell me to go live my life because it’ll go by too fast and on the other hand they tell me that I can do anything as long as its engineering or being a doctor..how fair is that? I can’t even go to the supermarket without my brother..how the hell do you expect me to live in the outside world? My parents and grandparents keeping telling me to learn how to use the bus to go somewhere..but tell me *family*..if I am not allowed to step out of my own apartment then how will I ever gather the courage to use the bus? Please..

And hey you know what? I don’t want to get married..but the prime existence of a female Indian is to get married and your family will not let you hear the end of it until you do. I can’t live like this..there is no choice of our own..whatever your parents say you absolutely have to do. I want to travel and be happy..not have kids and cook everyday. Speaking of cooking..not all girls or women are gifted with the art of cooking. I barely know anything but just because I’m Indian I need to start learning things..no one even knows that I like to write.. Sometimes even you family doesn’t know anything about you..it’s just you against the world.

                                                         ΣForever and Always

 

One thought on “Being an Indian girl is tough bro.

  1. MimiTa says:

    Hi! You definitely have it hard, girl, and I hope that things are starting to get better for you. From what you have shared, I now understand more about how being an Indian girl is hard, so thank you for sharing your story! I definitely learned a lot from you. Also, thank you so much for nominating me for the Liebster Award! Your nomination brought me a lot of happiness, and I am forever grateful to you. 🙂
    I just wanted to let you know that I have nominated you to do the 4 Fact survey. To do the survey, I think that you just need to answer the same questions that I did. Here’s the link, if you’re interested in doing it: https://musingsofablueberry.wordpress.com/2016/04/24/the-4-fact-survey-more-about-mimita-d/
    Thanks for being such an inspirational blogger and for sharing your life stories and perspective.
    Have a nice rest of your day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

